May 30, 2019/Press Releases

Massachusetts Democratic Party Celebrates at 20th Annual Roosevelt Awards Reception

For Immediate Release

Thursday, May 30, 2019


Patrick Coyne, Massachusetts Democratic Party, 617-939-0800

Massachusetts Democratic Party Celebrates at 20th Annual Roosevelt Awards Reception

Senator Paul G. Kirk, Jr and Massachusetts State Treasurer Deborah P. Goldberg were the 2019 Roosevelt Award Recipients

BOSTON — Last night, the Massachusetts Democratic Party held their 20th annual Roosevelt Awards Dinner at the Fairmont Copley Plaza Hotel. Hundreds of Democrats from across the Commonwealth attended the sold-out event to honor the two Roosevelt recipients, Former Senator Paul G. Kirk Jr. and Massachusetts State Treasurer Deborah B. Goldberg. The night included remarks from the Massachusetts Democratic Party Chair, Gus Bickford; Former Congresswoman Niki Tsongas; Congressman Joseph P. Kennedy III; Roosevelt Dinner Co-Chair, Shanti Fry; and Democratic National Committee Chair, Tom Perez.

“This year’s celebration was proof that Democrats are fired up and ready to take back the Senate and the White House in 2020,” said Gus Bickford, Chair of the Massachusetts Democratic Party.  “I am grateful we were able to have Chairman Tom Perez with us last night–his speech reflects the values our Party and highlighted the distinguished careers of our two awardees, Senator Paul Kirk and Treasurer Deb Goldberg. These two individuals could not be more deserving of the recognition they received for their years of tireless service to the Democratic Party and to the people of Massachusetts.”

“It is an honor to receive the 2019 Eleanor Roosevelt Award and to be a Massachusetts Democrat,” said State Treasurer Deb Goldberg. “I am committed to continue to fight for our shared values of opportunity, fairness and equality for all.”

“It was the privilege of my life to represent Massachusetts in the United States Senate,” said former Senator Paul Kirk. “As a lifelong Democrat, I am honored to receive this award from the Massachusetts Democratic Party.”